Hard Questions from Little Minds

My husband bought a bike.  For anyone who knows my husband, you know that this may or may not end well.  So far, so good, for him.

After all the ballgames on Thursday evening, my husband and children mounted their bicycles for a nice evening ride.  I don’t have a bike, so I walked.  My husband, on his large road bike, obviously struck out at a much faster pace than the kids or me.  The kids, being faster than me, were instructed to please just stay together.  I walked on, looking forward to being lapped multiple times on the short circle by all my cyclists.

The kids and I made it to the top of a fairly steep incline when they went on ahead of me out of my line of vision.  Then I heard it.  The screaming and wailing.  My daughter was screaming for me to hurry.  I cut out at a jog (I’m no athlete), and when my kids came into view, they were both there and standing up.  Ali was off her bike and wandering in the middle of the path screaming.  I couldn’t wrap my head around what could’ve possibly happened!

As I drew closer, I could see the blood dripped down her chin and the gaping hole in her cheek.  She had apparently hit her brakes too hard and run into a tree on the side of the trail.

Remember that friend group I talked about in my first post?  They truly are the best.  With my husband nowhere in sight, I had to gather up the bicycle, find her glasses, and start herding everyone to our vehicle whilst trying to calm Ali, keep Spencer close, take a picture of her wound that obviously was going to require stitches, and call on one of my dear friends to talk to her husband (a doctor).  I was overwhelmed, not to mention out of breath from my jog!  So when my husband was about to come whizzing past, I know we looked awful.  He was shocked at our scene.  By that time, though, we had instructions to go to the clinic’s back door for stitches.

Y’all.  I can’t say enough about my friend group.  Yours may not include a physician, and that’s OK.  The whole point of your FG is to be there when you need them just like you’ll be there when they need you.  They are the absolute highlight of my life right now, and I want to encourage you to get a FG fast if you aren’t engaged in one right now.

image

After the whole thing was over and we were 4 stitches closer to healing, my Ali piped up in the backseat, “Mom, who made me run into that tree?”

Me, “You mean God or the devil?”

“Yes.”

This is a theme at our house.  God controls everything.  But in her little mind, if God is good and controls everything, why would he make her run her bike into a tree?  Why would a good Father want pain for a beloved daughter?

And so, I learned a lesson, too.  As I thought long and hard about God’s sovereignty and control, I explained to her that I didn’t think that God or the devil either one necessarily MADE her run into that tree.  I told her that it was an accident, but I quickly reminded her of Romans 8:28 that says, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.”

ALL things.  EVERYTHING.  We talked about all that we learned from this accident–bike safety, listening skills, the love of friends and a testimony of how God protected her from how much worse that could’ve been!  She was comforted by the revelation that God was, in fact, in this whole thing and would use it for good.

Sweet friends, can we remember this today?  Can Romans 8:28 become a life verse for all of us?  Whatever it is that you’re walking through, big or small, please know that God can and will use it for GOOD.

Thanks for reading!  And I would love to hear your feedback, your stories of how God used a situation for GOOD.

One thought on “Hard Questions from Little Minds

Leave a Reply

