Books I’ve Read in May

This is a better way to do books, I think.  Since I read so many, it’s just better to cover them all in one post.

I should preface this by saying that I got a Kindle for my birthday.  This may well be the best thing that has ever happened to my reading.  I have gone full on competition with my reading speed.  You say 24 minutes to the end of the chapter?  I say I can do better than that!  You say I’ve read 86% of this book.  I will not sleep until it’s finished!  You say 10 minutes until the end of whatever?  I’ve got 10 minutes to knock that out.  Previously, I would look at how many pages were left in a chapter and then just put my bookmark there not realizing I could finish that in five minutes and then move on to laundry, dishes, life.

I did not, however, realize that ebooks can be just as expensive (if not more!) as print books.  Come on, Amazon!  You’re killing me!  If I’m going to spend $9.99 on a book, I want to be able to feel the pages.  So, I’ve found a couple of places to find and watch for cheaper ebooks.  Amazon shows daily and monthly specials, and I was told by a gracious friend about BookBub.  Where else?  Y’all help a cheap girl out here!  Comment here or on Instagram or Facebook with your favorite places to get ebooks for less than, say, $5.00 each.

So we all remember that I read The Opposite of Everyone by Joshilyn Jackson.  You can see that post here.  I enjoyed it greatly as did my friends.

imageAfter that review, a friend suggested Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin.  My library had a copy that I picked up the very next day.  Knocked it out in no time and was able to mark off “murder mystery” from my reading checklist.  Thank goodness!  I was dreading a James Patterson.  Let me say that I have read TONS of James Patterson and have truly enjoyed many of them, but that’s not what I’m in to right now, I was glad to have a different murder mystery to get that checked off.  This book was big on character development and low on story development in my opinion.  I could pretty much tell what was going to be the outcome from early on, and the only true twist or turn was a personal matter for the characters.  Very predictable.  A fast read, though, and I like that.

imageYes, Please by Amy Poehler.  Got this one for $2.99 somehow.  This book didn’t change my life, but it was a good fast read.  It made me want to go back and watch Parks and Recreation since she devoted her longest chapter to that show.  That’s sort of disappointing to me as most of my memories of her were on SNL.  This marked off “memoir or biography” from the RC.

 

 

 

 

imageChasing God by Angie Smith.  This is my first Angie Smith book. I bought it for like $.99 on Kindle.  I think it would be a GREAT book for someone who is having trouble seeing themselves as God sees them.  That’s not a struggle that I have at this time, but she has some awesome things to say and has had some real life struggles that many of us can relate with well.  Her style of writing is a little different than what I’m used to reading, so this one moved very slow for me.  In all  honesty, that little % number at the bottom of my Kindle screen and my competitive spirit may have been the only thing keeping me going at times.  A friend revealed to me that she doesn’t think she’s ever finished an Angie Smith book, and I know why.  I would recommend it to anyone who feels like God is mad at them or that His love is conditional.  I checked off “a book that will help you grow” from the RC even though I don’t know how much I grew.

The last one that I finished was Looking for Lovely by Annie Downs.  This one has had a lotimage of hoopla regarding its release in the Christian book world.  It was a good, fast read.  I don’t think it really challenged or changed me, but I see how it could be a HUGE encouragement for someone going through some of the things that she faces.  She speaks to the importance of community and looking for beautiful things in everyday circumstances and places including sushi.  God shows up everywhere.  We’ve just got to be willing and take the time to see HIM.  I highly recommend this one.  I couldn’t mark anything off my list for this one.  Chalk it up as another “book of your choice.”

A coworker once made the comment, “You’ll read anything, won’t you, Emily.”  True story.  I will read ALMOST anything.  I’ve got a few lines drawn when it comes to some books (mainly 50 Shades of Grey, and I don’t need your judgement on that), but otherwise, I’m up for most anything.  I’d love to hear your suggestions.  I listen to Jamie Ivey’s podcast The Happy Hour (free on iTunes) on the regular, and she always asks her guests what they’re reading.  I love that, and I get lots of ideas from all of them.  I can’t figure out how to follow normal people on Good Reads, so if you’ve got pointers on that, I’m all ears.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

