June Book Review

June was a semi slow month reading wise.  Our family traveled for weeks at a time, which seems like prime reading time except I just never can carve out that time.  I could read in the car, but that’s when Hubs and I talk the most, so I don’t want to trade that in for a book.  So, here goes.

imageFirst, I quickly knocked out Still Alice by Lisa Genova.  I snatched it up for $1.99 one day on Kindle.  Win!!  This book moved me deeply.  I loved every minute of it.  I’ve recommended it to all my friends.  Alice is diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s.  This book looks at how she reacts and how her family deals.  It is a beautiful look at a disease that we actually know very little about.  As much as I loved it, it did make me slightly paranoid of my forgetfulness.  Ridiculous, I know.  This is my “New York Times Bestseller” even if it is from 2007.

image

Next, I read Wonder by R. J. Palacio.  This book is on all the reading lists and has been dubbed a “modern day classic.” I picked it up from my local library. I was eager to read it and judge when I would force my kids to read it.  I’d say the end of fourth grade/fifth grade is acceptable for MY child.  Judge for yourself on your own kids.  It’s about August, a boy with facial deformities due to birth defects and multiple surgeries, as he navigates the fifth grade which also happens to be his first year in school (as opposed to homeschool).  I loved how the reactions of the kids at school is well represented and August’s feelings toward that.  Love wins in this book.  I love it.  This is my “book set on a school campus” on my reading list.

imageLean on Me by Ann Marie Miller .  I am stuck on community right now.  I want to drink it in both personally and with what I read, so this book’s title caught me straight off.  At $1.99 on Kindle, I couldn’t resist.  Except the title was the most deceiving thing!  This book is the story of the author’s divorce and recovery.  While her friends are mentioned as a support group, she simply narrates her moves from one side of the US to the other in her quest for recovery and healing.  I was so disappointed.  If you’ve been through a divorce or are going through a divorce, this book may or may not be a good one.  I don’t know.  I’m not recommending it ever.  I did finish it because I have a thing about that.

 

imageLastly, I read The Tumor by John Grisham.  It was all the way free on Kindle.  I read it in about 20 minutes, but I’m still counting it.  He says it’s his most important book.  It addresses cancer and a new form of treatment that’s out there.  It’s bringing light on this new treatment, and I believe it could be very important for the future.  It got really technical at times, so if you don’t have a medical background, some of it can get boggy.

Scant list, I know.  I’ve started some new ones, so hopefully July will look different.  I made my daughter read The BFG by Roald Dahl before we see that in theaters.  That book stuck with me as one of my very favorites back when I read it (what? 5th, 6th grade?), so I’m making my Ali read it in order to see the movie.  She’s in love.  I’ve got several others from my childhood that I remember as turning points in my reading career.  The Boxcar Children series was one.  I read a little bit of The Babysitter’s Club.  Number the Stars by Lois Lowry sticks out.  The Giver by  changed my life.  I read it again about 2 years ago and still love it.  The movie could not match up of course.  What about you?  When you think back to your childhood, what book hooked you on reading?

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

