August Book Review

You would think that now that both of my children are in school, I would be reading like a mama with all the time, but that’s not how it’s been at all.  Confession: the first day my

baby went to kindergarten, I hugged the toilet all day from anxiety and nerves.  That isn’t even like me!  Between my work schedule and the day he came home from school sick, I’ve really had very little quiet time at home when I’m not asleep.  Boo!!  Also, there was the Olympics!  I watched every second of the Olympics that I could.  I refuse to comment on the bickering between our local NBC channel and DirecTV that led to DAYS of missed opportunity to view all the medals being won.  I’ll be bitter over that for a while.  Anyway, August was a slow month for me reading wise.

Everything You Ever Wanted by Jillian Lauren.  Y’all, this book made me want to stand up and slow clap for this family.  I love a good memoir, and this one is way up there on my imagenew favorite list.  I hear tell that you should read her first one called Some Girls first, but I don’t have any rules or boundaries when it comes to book order.  I assume that the book is going to catch me up enough to understand.  This generally holds true.  Some of y’all are cringing. Sorry, not sorry.  This is Jillian’s and her husband Scott’s story of infertility and adoption.  She lives a life so different from mine.  I’m intrigued by all the hippity dippity fertility methods she tried.  Truth is, her life isn’t so different when it comes to struggles.  I am so grateful she wrote this honest book.  What a woman!  This one was on sale for $1.99 on Kindle not long ago.

 

About mid-month, I had heard so much about Audible that I finally just went for it.  If you’ve never tried this membership based service and you listen to audio books, you should at least look into it.  I have a 40 minute commute to work, so it makes sense for me to use that time wisely.  I listen to lots of podcasts, but audio books are a great alternative for me.  With your first free 30 days, you get 2 free audio books.  After that it’s just one a month and then a 40% discount on any others that you buy.  There are several levels of membership, so look into it and see what works for you.  My favorite thing about listening to books is that they are read by actors, so they nail the accents and emotions.  When I read a British book (which I LOVE), I read in an accent in my head, so I truly appreciate that someone else is doing that for me!  I’m still in my 30 day trial period, so I’ll report back how I still feel about this service next month.

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly is the first book I listened to on audio.  The narrators are amazing on this one.  It’s from three different points of view, so there are three different readers which I really appreciated.  It’s a WWII book with different perspectives all over the world that all come together in the end.  One woman is a French ambassador type inimage New York, one is a Polish woman who ends up in a concentration camp, and the last is a German doctor who is passionate about Hitler’s Germany.  This was probably the most graphic WWII historical fiction I’ve ever read.  Most of them are from the point of view of Jews in hiding, but that is far from what’s going on here.  The author researched this book so well.  I was really impressed that everything I stopped to google was all there.  I learned a lot and would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys WWII historical fiction.  It was hard at times, but well worth it in the end.

 

 

 

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.  This one was recommended over and over by Jamie Ivey over on her podcast The Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey.  I stumbled across it at the Goodwill Bookstore and then had my friend go back and get it the next weekend

imageduring their 40% off sale.  Cheapy.  The girl in this book is jacked up.  No better way to put that.  Life has been hard and she has very few coping skills.  I was frustrated with her at times.  This is a beautiful story about grace in the end.  I feel like that’s exactly how God feels about His children.  Great read.

 

 

 

 

Unstuffed by Ruth Soukup.  She runs the website Living Well, Spending Less.  This was aimage short nonfiction read about decluttering your home, mind and soul.  I really don’t consider my mind and soul to be cluttered terribly because I have zero problem saying no to things, but my house is the struggle.  It’s embarrassing at times.  She gives a few strategies for cleaning out stuff, but her main thing is to get to the root of the issue–why do we have so much stuff.  Good, quick read.  Worth it if you’re like me and need to get some closets cleaned out and not fill them back up.  This book was also on sale for $1.99 on Kindle this month.

 

 

I also need to rave about a new podcast I discovered this month called What Should I Read Next by Ann Bogel.  She is over at Modern Mrs. Darcy, and I have literally fallen down the rabbit hole that is her site and her podcasts.  It is a book lover’s dream.  Head over there using the link and check it all out if you haven’t already.

August was somewhat slow, but autumn is coming!  I hate pumpkin flavored everything, but I really dig apple and cinnamon, so I’m looking forward to curling up under a quilt with a warm cup of cider and a good book.  It’s going to be delightful!

 

One thought on “August Book Review

Leave a Reply

